So early early Monday morning, before I went to sleep, the fan on my laptop started making funny noises. Now…this was obviously not a good sign, so I put the computer into standby, which quieted the fan. The noise started up a few times since then, usually a few minutes after bring the computer out of standby, so it’s not just a one-time thing.
   So I’m taking a few minutes to risk typing an entry, for your information – I’m going to try something in a bit, that might work if the problem is just dust/other stuff clogging the fan. Otherwise…I’m going to have to try something else. I’m hoping it’s just dust.

[Edit 4:05am]
   Some friends and I just tried to use one of those compressed air canisters combined with a vacuum to see if we could clear the fan, assuming that it was a dust/clog that could be easily fixed. That didn’t seem to have much of an effect. Then we tried opening up some parts of the laptop to see if we could access the fan area, but…it seems, according to the HP manual for my model that he found on their website, that we’d need to remove almost everything else before we can reach the fan area.
   Looks like unless I can get some other kind of help in the next few days, I’ll have to take it to Best Buy to see if they can rescue it.

   Basically in the short run I’m only using my laptop for short periods of time. Kind of annoying, having this kind of problem at this time. As long as we can get it fixed…in the meantime, I’m backing up my files.


   Hmm. Thoughts.

Leave a Reply

