“Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.”  -James Dean

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”   -Mohandas Gandhi

If you were to somehow learn, without a doubt, that you had only a
certain amount of time left to live, what, if anything, would you do
differently?

I think that if I were truly to find out that I only had a limited
amount of time to live, I would do many things differently.  To start,
I think the way I approach each day would be different.  I imagine that
my attitude towards people or towards most things might change in some
ways.  But my full answer (which I haven’t yet written) to the question
above bothers me in some ways.  First and foremost, it disturbs me that
the life I imagine in such a scenario is so drastically different from
the way that my life is now.

In this hypothetical situation, the changes I think would happen
would be primarily geared to force myself to really block out any of
the many annoyances that one might find in any given day, to filter out
distractions and focus on things I’ve considered important.  In short,
I think that I would be finally forced to try as hard as possible to
live life to the fullest that I can imagine it.  And so my answer
bothers me because it tells me a lot of things that I’m not doing right now.

If there’s anything I’m sure would change if my days were suddenly
numbered, it would be that I wouldn’t play any more videogames or watch
movies, unless it were with friends.  I think that I would do a lot
less worrying, which seems paradoxical in some way, but makes sense (at
least to me) when you consider that there shouldn’t be real cause to
worry about things known for sure.  I think that I would be less
bothered by any daily annoyances, less bothered by anything having to
do with my family, and generally more tolerant of some things in the
world.  So basically, if I were to find my days numbered, I would worry
less, I would appreciate my family and friends more, I would be less
hesitant and more confident, and really…I think I would be really able
to ‘live’ most of my last days more than I’ve really “lived” the
majority of my previous years (with the exception of some notable
occasions).  Those ‘notable occasions’ prove my point–those occasions
were usually the times where I was most immersed in what I was doing,
focusing on things at hand and on enjoying each moment instead of
worrying about the future or needlessly stressing over things that
really aren’t worth stressing over.

I had come to the conclusion, years back, that most things weren’t
worth stressing over–that ultimately, whether or not a given issue
affected a person was solely the choice of that person–but I think
somewhere in the last year or so, I had forgotten to not care.  I
think, while trying to care more about things, I forgot to not care
about the things that I shouldn’t let affect me, to ignore the things
that aren’t worth spending time or energy worrying about.  Seems like
the things I shouldn’t care about are about as important as the things
I should care about.

I wonder how difficult it might be to change the way a person
lives.  By that, I suppose I mean I wonder how I might go from the
semi-life that I live to really living each day to the fullest.  I
guess huge changes aren’t easy once a person’s settled into a
comfortable routine, but I won’t quite lose all hope that change can
happen.

So I’ll work on caring less, and caring more…trying to live a little bit more.

Leave a Reply

