I’ve never heard of ocular migraines, but I had one today a few hours into work–had to leave earlier to get it checked out.

Symptoms were that there was a sudden blind spot in both my eyes, as well as increased sensitivity to light for a while; when looking directly at text, I couldn’t really see it, and had to look around it in order to read using peripheral vision. After I closed my eyes for around 10 minutes, I could see what I was directly looking at but there was a bit of haziness around the rest of my vision.

The eye doctor was able to tell right away what it was from my description of the symptoms. She said that there’s no exact explanation of what causes it yet, only some correlations between intake of MSGs, stress, family history of migraines, etc.

Hopefully there won’t be any more of those.

Leave a Reply

