It’s just occurred to me, after reading about Zimbardo’s Time Perspective Inventory (ZTPI), the reason why I write more often during some months and less during others.

Actually, I came upon the ZTPI while reading an article about how one’s perspective of time changes while playing videogames , and the article was interesting enough that I did some more reading into Zimbardo’s Time Perspective types. The result of all this was that I noticed…Zimbardo’s research seems to make some sense, haha–how people’s general time-perspective was linked to how much or how often they would play videogames–at least in relation to myself and friends of mine. Thinking about it, I noticed that I play games with more frequency when present-focused, and play games much less or not at all when considering future issues (Zimbardo’s Future-oriented type).

I was thinking that this tied into my blog-writing frequency as well, which is a subject I’ve always been curious about. It seems that I write more when I’m in more of a future-oriented mindset, and that I write less when in a present-oriented mindset (which is when I tend to forgo writing for gaming or some other less mentally focused activity).

For anyone curious about the ZTPI, you can find more information and the survey itself–only 10 questions–here.

Leave a Reply

