I’m feeling like I’m back at unconscious incompetence again, which is a bit disconcerting but at the same time good because it’s one of those indicators that I’m learning some new things.

How do I become a better fighter? After I fix the list above, break bad habits and build good ones, where will I be then? What kinds of things am I overlooking entirely, that are vital to my development?

And where do I go from here in terms of training? Now that I’ve undergone my second evaluation and entered the bottom ranks of Level 2, I think I’m only now really beginning my Muay Thai training, or so Master Ace had said to us all during the KRU Expo. From the 4-3-2-1 Drill that I was taught today, I’m starting to see a difference in focus between Level 1 and Level 2, which is to say an emphasis on defense and avoidance. The first 2 parts of the 4-3-2-1 are a mix of shielding against leg kicks and avoiding the body kicks, whereas all of the Level 1 Combo is about contact–the striker punches and occasionally covers, but there is no avoidance. Hopefully I’m not reading incorrectly into that…I’ll ask KRU Joe or Master some time to find out.

I’ve been considering upgrading my membership to KRU’s Elite program, which would allow several benefits over my current membership status. The biggest problem that I’m facing is really the 36 month commitment required to lock in the deal, and this is an issue because of where I am (or aren’t) in life right now.

The way I think of it, the biggest thing keeping me from upgrading my contract is because I don’t know when my employment will change. If I move out of state, then the contract can be annulled easily…but if I only move within state, I’d still be locked into the 24 or 36 month plan, unless I pay the contract termination fee.

The parts of KRU Training that prompted me to sign up are all still here, I think. The knowledgeable instructors, friendly (for the most part) students, and the solid curriculum make KRU in my mind one of the best places I could be learning Muay Thai. I almost wish it could be easier for me to just commit to another 2 or 3 years, as I have no doubt it’d be good for me health-wise, provided I can avoid serious injury in the Level 2 classes.

What am I getting at here? Pretty much that as much as I’ve been enjoying classes at KRU and as much as I’ve been learning there, the training doesn’t feel like my calling, and I’m more determined than ever to find that as soon as I can.

How do I reconcile my strengths in order to find a profession or job where I can genuinely contribute to the greatest of my abilities?

I appreciate the martial arts, but I think that I’ll have a greater capacity for enjoyment of it after I can sort out this portion of my life.

Leave a Reply

