I find that I value being unsettled nowadays because it means that something important wants to be recognized.

This time it’s a reminder of an underlying craving for something I can’t yet define: emotional? Intellectual? Social?

Memories of an absent richness of experience, maybe.

This time I’m reminded of what I really value, of what I think I’ve been looking for since I started to care. Reminded that to not grow, to not push upwards and onwards, is to settle for second best by default. And that the most important choices–what I do, who I’m with, and how I see the world–are always mine to make.

Leave a Reply

